Leinster name side for Sale Sharks encounter

Leinster name side for Sale Sharks encounter

Leinster Head Coach Leo Cullen has revealed the lineup for their RDS clash against the Sale Sharks in the Investec Champions Cup this evening.

Making his Champions Cup debut, Thomas Clarkson joins the front row alongside hooker Dan Sheehan and prop Andrew Porter.

In the second row, Leinster lock Jason Jenkins secures a starting position, forming a formidable partnership with James Ryan. The back row sees a final adjustment, with Josh van der Flier stepping in alongside Ryan Baird and Caelan Doris. 

The back-three stays unchanged from the previous weekend's victorious performance in La Rochelle. Hugo Keenan anchors the full-back position, with try-scorer Jordan Larmour and Jimmy O'Brien securing the wings. In the centre, Garry Ringrose partners with Robbie Henshaw, while Ciarán Frawley takes on the fly-half role for his inaugural appearance in European competition.

On the bench, the replacements include promising half-backs Ben Murphy and Sam Prendergast, both set to make their Champions Cup debuts. Murphy, who was part of last week's squad in France, also earns a starting position. 

Speaking in anticipation of the game, Leinster Assistant Coach Andrew Goodman remarked, “Sale have a clear DNA of how they play. I’ve enjoyed watching them. They have some nice strike plays with some dangerous backs. We’re excited to go up against them at home.” 

Kick-off is scheduled for 5:30 p.m., and the match will be broadcast live on RTÉ2, TNT Sports 1, and Newstalk. 

Leinster Starting XV: 

Hugo Keenan - Full-back 

Jordan Larmour - Right Wing 

Garry Ringrose CO-CAPTAIN - Outside Centre Robbie Henshaw - Inside Centre 

Jimmy O’Brien - Left Wing 

Ciarán Frawley, Fly-Half Jamison Gibson-Park, Scrumhalf 

Andrew Porter - Loosehead Prop Dan Sheehan - Hooker Thomas Clarkson, Tighthead Prop 

Jason Jenkins - Second Row James Ryan CO-CAPTAIN, Second Row 

Ryan Baird - Blindside Flanker Josh van der Flier - Openside Flanker Caelan Doris - Number Eight 


Rónan Kelleher, Replacement Hooker Cian Healy, Replacement Loosehead Prop Michael Ala'alatoa, Replacement Tighthead Prop Joe McCarthy, Replacement Second Row Jack Conan, Replacement Blindside Flanker Ben Murphy, Replacement Scrum-Half Sam Prendergast, Replacement Fly-Half Charlie Ngatai, Replacement Centre 

Referee: Pierre Brousset (FFR)