URC: Connacht name side to face Glasgow Warriors on Saturday night

URC: Connacht name side to face Glasgow Warriors on Saturday night

The Connacht management team has made four alterations to their starting lineup ahead of tomorrow's match against Glasgow Warriors on Saturday night. 

Connacht head-coach Andy Friend has gone with a back three of Tiernan O'Halloran, John Porch, and Byron Ralston.

Tom Farrell and Cathal Forde start in midfield.

Jack Carty captains the side from 10 and Caolin Blade starts as the teams scrumhalf.

Up front Denis Buckley, Dylan Tierney-Martin, and Finlay Bealham start in the front row. Niall Murray and Josh Murphy start as the provinces locks, while Josh Murphy
Conor Oliver, and Cian Prendergast  complete side from the back row.

Director of Rugby Andy Friend expressed his admiration for the team, coaches, and support staff following the announcement, stating that their recent run of six successive wins, claiming each game more critical than the previous, is a testament to the squad's character.

"Enormous credit must go to the players, coaches and all of the backroom staff that we currently find ourselves in this position. Our backs were against the wall after the start we had, so to produce six straight wins - with each game more important than the last - speaks volumes of the character of the group," said Friend.

"We can’t wait for the playoffs but for now it’s all about finishing as high as we can and bringing Champions Cup rugby back to The Sportsground next season.

"There’ll be plenty of external noise as the results come in tomorrow, but for us the objective won’t change regardless of what happens elsewhere. We know a win gives us at least 6th which would be enough for qualification, so that’s what we’re aiming for.”The game kicks-off at 19.35pm on Saturday.

Connacht team 

Full back: 15. Tiernan O’Halloran
Winger: 14. John Porch
Centres: 13. Tom Farrell  12. Cathal Forde
Winger: 11. Byron Ralston
Out half: 10. Jack Carty (192) (C) Scrum half: 9. Caolin Blade
Front row: 1. Denis Buckley, 2. Dylan Tierney-Martin, 3. Finlay Bealham
Second Row: 4. Oisín Dowling , 5. Niall Murray
Back Row: 6. Josh Murphy, 7. Conor Oliver, 8. Cian Prendergast
Replacements: 16. Eoin de Buitléar, 17. Peter Dooley, 18. Sam Illo, 19. Darragh Murray, 20. Shamus Hurley-Langton, 21. Kieran Marmion, 22. Tom Daly, 23. Shane Jennings