WATCH: Sky Sports News presenter calls Dublin 'All-England Champions'

WATCH: Sky Sports News presenter calls Dublin 'All-England Champions'

JUST when we thought Sky Sports News were getting the hang of GAA, anchorman Mike Wedderburn has dropped the ultimate clanger.

Before announcing the nominees for this year’s GAA/GPA All-Star awards, the news reader referred to Dublin as “All-England Champions.”

Needless to say, social media fell into hysterics, with multiple sources posting footage of the gaffe immediately after, including Irish bookmakers Paddy Power, as above.


For the record, Dublin trio Jack McCaffrey, Bernard Brogan and Philly McMahon have been named as the nominees for the 2015 Player Of The Year Award.

Meanwhile, Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor, Ryan McHugh of Donegal and Monaghan's Ryan Wylie are short-listed for the Young Footballer Of The Year Award.

All-Ireland champions Dublin boast no fewer than 11 players on the full list of All-Star nominees, which you can find below. The awards will be handed out on November 6.

2015 GAA/GPA All-Star Football Nominations

Goalkeepers: Brendan Kealy (Kerry), Paul Durcan (Donegal), Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Defenders: Jonny Cooper, Rory O'Carroll, Philly McMahon, James McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey (all Dublin), Shane Enright, Jonathan Lyne (both Kerry), Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett (all Mayo), Cathal McCarron, Ronan McNamee, Ronan McNabb (all Tyrone), Vinny Corey, Karl O'Connell (both Monaghan), Frank McGlynn, Ryan McHugh (both Donegal).

Midfielders: Brian Fenton (Dublin), Anthony Maher, David Moran (both Kerry), Tom Parsons (Mayo), Neil Gallagher (Donegal), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone).


Forwards: Ciarán Kilkenny, Diarmuid Connolly, Paddy Andrews, Bernard Brogan (all Dublin), Donnchadh Walsh, James O'Donoghue, Paul Geaney (all Kerry), Diarmuid O'Connor, Cillian O'Connor, Aidan O'Shea (all Mayo), Mattie Donnelly, Peter Harte, Seán Cavanagh (all Tyrone), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Seán Quigley (Fermanagh), Kieran Martin (Westmeath), Donie Kingston (Laois).