Down v Donegal: Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship preview

Down v Donegal: Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship preview

This weekend Down takes on Donegal in the quarter-final of the Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship.

Here's a full preview of the game to come.

Sun, Apr 23, 2023

What time is it on?


Where is it on?

Páirc Esler, Newry

What TV station is it on?

You can watch it live on BBC SPORT NI

You also stream it here 

What time does stream coverage start?



Brendan Cawley

Can I stream the game? 

Yes here

Can I listen to it on the radio?

Yes here

Can I get tickets for the game

Tickets can be found here

What are the odds for the game

Odds can be found here

What happened the last time the sides met in the Championship

27 June 2021: Donegal 2-25 - 1-12 Down

Squads and scorers that day

Scorers for Donegal: Patrick McBrearty (1-6, 2f), Jamie Brennan (1-1), Ryan McHugh (0-4), Michael Langan (0-4, 1f, 1’45), Peadar Mogan (0-3), Michael Murphy (0-2, 1f), Ciaran Thompson (0-1), Niall O’Donnell (0-1), Eoin McHugh (0-1), Conor O’Donnell (0-1), Ethan O’Donnell (0-1)

Scorers for Down: Caolan Mooney (1-0), Barry O’Hagan (0-8, 3f, 1Mark), Liam Kerr (0-2, 1f), James Guinness (0-1), Darren O’Hagan (0-1)

DONEGAL: Shaun Patton; Brendan McCole, Neil McGee, Stephen McMenamin; Ryan McHugh, Odhran McFadden Ferry, Eoghan Ban Gallagher; Hugh McFadden, Caolan McGonigle; Ciaran Thompson, Niall O’Donnell, Michael Langan; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Peadar Mogan

Subs: Eoin McHugh for McCole (25), Jamie Brennan for Murphy (29), Ethan O’Donnell for Thompson (51), Conor O’Donnell for N O’Donnell (56), Paul Brennan for McGee (63)

DOWN: Rory Burns; Peter Fegan, Gerard McGovern, Gerard Collins; Pierce Laverty, Darren O’Hagan, Daniel Guinness; Caolan Mooney, Ryan McEvoy; Liam Kerr, Ceilum Doherty, Barry O’Hagan; Conor McCrickard, Liam Middleton, Cory Quinn

Subs: Danny Savage for Middleton (41), Stephen McConville for McEvoy (41), James Guinness for Kerr (45), Cormac McCartan for Fegan (56), Kevin McKernan for McCrickard (59)

How many Ulster Championships has each side won

Donegal (10): 1972, 1974, 1983, 1990, 1992, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2018, 2019

Down (12): 1959, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1971, 1978, 1981, 1991, 1994

Teams for the game