Mark O’Dwyer scores hat-trick in Kilburn Gaels success

Mark O’Dwyer scores hat-trick in Kilburn Gaels success

Kilburn Gaels 5-9

Robert Emmetts 2-15

ULTIMATELY this Thursday evening Ruislip Ardent Tide Senior Hurling League Division One clash was decided by a potent Kilburn Gaels full-forward line.

Robert Emmetts contributed to a fine game, but every time they got close Kilburn just had an ability to nick a goal to widen the gap.  By the end Emmetts had the margin trimmed down to three again, but Kilburn held on.

The power and precision Mark O’Dwyer and Luke Gaule provided in attack nudged the reigning County Champions to victory, but Emmetts left the Emerald GAA Grounds feeling good about themselves too.

Well controlled by referee Brian Barrett it was a lively match from the outset in which Kilburn commenced brightly.

Damien Browne was sharp from frees initially while O’Dwyer drilled a splendid sixth minute goal following smart work by the hard working Matty Holohan.

Emmetts, prompted by the effective Tadhg Healy, were defiant throughout as an opportunistic Conor McMullan major following a Paul Horgan free brought them back into contention.  A point from Cathal Keogh ensured Emmetts only trailed by 1-5 to 1-4 by the 18th minute, but Kilburn finished the first half strongly.

Jack Lineen’s pass seconds later enabled O’Dwyer wriggle clear to thump another goal as Kilburn went in 2-7 to 1-7 ahead at the interval.

The issue was decided in the 20 minutes after the restart.  Emmetts struck four points during that spell, but Kilburn nailed three goals from Gaule, O’Dwyer, and a beauty from substitute Henry Vaughan.  In the closing stages Emmetts made one last burst, but Kilburn closed the deal.

Scorers for Kilburn Gaels: Mark O’Dwyer 3-0, L Gaule 1-2, H Vaughan 1-0, S Power 0-2, D Browne 0-2 (2fs), F Collins 0-1, J Gaine 0-1, M Holohan 0-1 (f).

Scorers for Robert Emmetts: M Dwyer 0-8 (8fs), C McMullan 1-0, K McMullan 1-0, C Keogh 0-3, R Costello 0-2, P Breen 0-1, T Healy 0-1.

Kilburn Gaels: Michael O’Dwyer; P Burke, N McDonnell, K Kennedy; D Burke, N Brophy, J Lineen; F Collins, D Browne; M Holohan, R Horan, J Gaine; Mark O’Dwyer, L Gaule, S Power.  Subs: H Vaughan for Power (40 mins), E Treacy for D Burke (45 mins).

Robert Emmetts: M Traynor; A Nolan, N Higgins, N Clancy; P Breen, P Horgan, N McGill; M Fitzpatrick, T Healy; M Dwyer, R Costello, C Keogh; C McMullan, C Compton, M Lioufu.  Subs: B Jackman for Higgins (31 mins) N Buckley for Clancy (41 mins), K McMullan for Compton (44 mins).

Referee: B Barrett.