Dermot O'Leary donates his NTAs 2019 box to London Irish Centre charity volunteers

Dermot O'Leary donates his NTAs 2019 box to London Irish Centre charity volunteers

DERMOT O'LEARY returned to host the National Television Awards last night for the ninth year in a row, but the dapper presenter clearly hasn't forgotten his roots.

Ant McPartlin and Declan Donnelly scooped the Best TV Presenter Award for the 18th time on the night, while the London Irish Centre was also among the big winners – albeit offstage – all thanks to Mr O'Leary himself.

The 45-year-old presenter– who is a patron of the charity – invited staff, volunteers and friends of the LICC along to the O2 Arena to enjoy the biggest night in the British TV industry calendar from the comfort of his exclusive box.

Among the lucky attendees was Maeve Heath, the longest serving member of staff at the London Irish Centre, who has been volunteering with the charity for 42 years.

"I'm very grateful to Dermot for inviting me here tonight, it's fantastic," Maeve said, beaming ear-to-ear.

Dermot, whose parents Sean and Maria hail from Co. Wexford, slipped off his tuxedo jacket following the ceremony and was lovely enough (as usual) to enjoy a pint with his special guests.

Along with Ant & Dec, other award winners last night included Danny Dyer – who gave an emotional, expletive-filled speech after clinching the Outstanding Serial Drama Performance gong for his role as Mick Carter in EastEnders.

Elsewhere, Mrs Brown's Boys lost out to Peter Kay's Car Share in the Best Comedy category, while Peaky Blinders was named Best Drama and Paul O'Grady took home the Best Factual Entertainment Award for his passion project For the Love of Dogs.

Here's the full NTAs 2019 winners list:

  • TV PRESENTER: Ant & Dec
  • DRAMA: Peaky Blinders
  • NEW DRAMA: Bodyguard
  • TALENT SHOW: Strictly Come Dancing
  • QUIZ SHOW: The Chase
  • FACTUAL ENTERTAINMENT: Paul O'Grady: For the Love of Dogs
  • DRAMA PERFORMANCE: Richard Madden
  • THE BRUCE FORSYTH ENTERTAINMENT AWARD: I'm a Celebrity...Get Me Out of Here!
  • SERIAL DRAMA: Emmerdale
  • COMEDY: Peter Kay's Car Share
  • NEWCOMER: James Moore
  • DAYTIME: This Morning
  • TV JUDGE: David Walliams