Rugby World Cup - Ireland v Scotland: What time is it on and where can I watch it?

Rugby World Cup - Ireland v Scotland: What time is it on and where can I watch it?

IRELAND open their 2019 World Cup campaign against Scotland this weekend in their opening Pool Stage game.

Joe Schmidt's side will be optimistic following back-to-back warm-up victories against Wales, somewhat banishing the memories of getting badly beaten by England back in August.

Ireland are currently the number one ranked side in the world, and while the ranking system is undeniably a flawed one and generally means nothing, it won't stop much of the Irish public believing that we can land our very first Webb Ellis Cup.

The tournament is taking place in Japan, which unfortunately means a lot of mid-morning/early-afternoon kick offs (which will probably mean an awful lot of 'sick days' over the next couple weeks.

But if you're unsure about the whens, wheres and hows, the Irish Post has got you covered. Here's everything you need to know about Sunday's match:

What day does the match take place?

Ireland face Scotland on Sunday September 22.

What time is the match on?

The match kicks off at 8.45am Irish time. 4.45pm local time.

Where can I watch it/What channel is it on?

The match will be broadcast live on RTE and Eir Sport. If you're watching from the UK, it'll be broadcast live on ITV1

Where is the match being played?

It's taking place at the International Stadium in Yokohama, Japan.

When are Ireland's other matches and who are they against?

Ireland have been drawn in Pool A along with Scotland, Russia, Samoa, and hosts Japan. Here is Ireland's fixture list:

September 22 - Ireland v Scotland - 8.45am (Irish time)

September 28 - Japan v Ireland - 8.15am (Irish time)

October 3 - Ireland v Russia - 11.15am (Irish time)

October 12 - Ireland v Samoa - 11.45am (Irish time)

Who will Ireland face in the next round?

Should Ireland qualify for the quarter final stage they will face one of the top two teams in Pool B which contains New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Namibia and Canada on either October 19t or 20 depending on Ireland's final group stage position.