Journalist Gemma O'Doherty receives first official presidential nomination

Journalist Gemma O'Doherty receives first official presidential nomination

CONTROVERSIAL journalist Gemma O'Doherty has received her first nomination as a candidate to contest the presidential election.

Ms O’Doherty received the vote from Laois County Council this morning.

Unfortunately for her, she failed to secure the vote from Cork County Council.

The proposal to support her was defeated at 28 votes to 5, with 6 abstentions.

It was largely opposed by Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour members.

Independent Cllr Diarmaid O Cadhla described the results as “very disappointing”.

Ms O’Doherty needs the nomination of a further three local authorities in order to be included on the ballot.

However, both Donegal and Kildare county councils have not yet taken a decision on whether or not they will nominate anyone as a candidate, meaning there are not enough uncommitted local authorities left to provide Ms O’Doherty with the four nominations she needs.

In a post on Facebook following the nomination, she said: "I am really grateful to Cllr Ben Brennan for all of the work he has put into this.

"And to Sinn Fein’s Aidan Mullins for his backing.

"Your support on this journey has strengthened my resolve daily. I need it in the next two days more than ever, so please get on the phone/email/Twitter/Facebook and let the politicians know what you want.

"Elections are coming. Local and national. We are in a period of huge transition in Ireland.

"But that change must be a force for good where we create a country where government is accountable to the people and the people alone.

"We will create an Ireland we can be proud of and one that sends a message to the rest of the world: that the Irish are taking a stand against corruption in all of its guises for once and for all."

Five other candidates have secured places on the ballot thus far.

Those are Dragons’ Den panellists Seán Gallagher, Peter Casey, Gavin Duffy, Independent Senator Joan Freeman, and Sinn Féin MEP Liadh Ní Riada.

Current President Michael D. Higgins is expected to nominate himself to run for re-election on Wednesday.